comment 0

Omegle & Creative Writing

musicians writers block

“Shit… I’m burnt out.”

Looking to experiment with your writing a little?  Here’s a funky way to obtain some good ideas through an unusual form of free writing.

I love writing, and I think I’ve gotten pretty good at it. However, all the writing I’ve done has been dry, academic type stuff. Every time I’ve tried to write an actual story, it’s turned out terribly. So, I’ve been doing this easy exercise to get better. I thought some of you might want to try.

So here’s what you do. Go on omegle or any one of those “chat anonymously with random strangers” type sites. As soon as you connect with someone, just start telling them an impromptu story. Don’t plan it out ahead of time and don’t stop typing until they disconnect. It’s actually pretty fun and I’ve gotten some good story ideas, just by riffing. My record is 20 minutes.”

The Reddit user drnecronomicus posted this exercise to r/writing, a writing subreddit (a single forum of the Reddit community).  You can read the original post to read others thoughts and experiences with this exercise.

Leave a Reply

