comment 0

How eye won the write to think

eyedea

I wanna suck out all your Junk and kiss it
back into the parts of your heart that you keep locked up.
When you awaken, I hope I’m the first person you call,
I’ll listen like a pistol, it’ll be worse than talking to a wall.”

Poetic lyrics accompanied by a desire to fight the course of thought and earn the right to think.  Creativity and odd flows twist and turn with the course of the river we are living in.  No matter how hard he hits the ground, Eyedea smiles with nooses hanging the corners of lips into a delighted grasp of living.  Eyedea is one of the greatest free stylists of this century, and offers through his rap a poetic rebellion against social and cultural conventions associated with the genre, pushing forward his own busted up smiles and philosophical views on existence.  His tongue brush strokes a barrage of mental images upon listening to his music.   A serrated story teller who displayed the knife fight that is emotions.  

His Ego is thoroughly recognized throughout his music.  Eyedea died October 16th, 2010.  Found by his Mother.  Various rappers flocked to Twitter to pay respect.

 And I’m like Jesus fucking Christ, I didn’t care much for life

But I’ve tried to stay alive forever, if I knew this is what death was like

I was never good at problem solving, especially in emergencies
I get a tad bit nervous when concerned with burning for eternity”

Have fun.  Smile.  Hit the ground.  Break some teeth.  

Smile.

Filed under: Music

About the Author

Posted by

Oi ! I’m Jeremiah Walton. For the past ~3 years I’ve been bopping around the U.S. between hitchhiking + rubber tramping, running traveling bookstore Books & Shovels + indie publisher Nostrovia! Press. My focus is in-person distribution at open mics + features + busking. Word of mouth is a fulfilling & feels to be a more intimate promotional process. I’ve featured at the NYC Poetry Festival + San Francisco Lit Crawl + Snoetry Cleveland + Beast Crawl Oakland + This Lil Lit Fest + street corners across the country. There’s a handful of my books floating around the country, but most recently is “From Here Til Utopia” (Ghost City Press). Raccoons + coyotes are my companions. Hope you dig the poems, much love, thank you❤

Leave a Reply

