comment 0

Terpischore’s Atrium with Jeremiah Walton

DSC01288

3. The most striking aspect about your poems is their exploration of the jagged, raw, and scarred realms of language and human experience, as opposed to the prim manicured composition many of the poets strive for. Poems such as ‘Campfire Psalms of the Lost and Angry ’,‘ Fearful 3 and ‘Where I found God’ are beautiful and unique precisely because of their haunting imagery, forceful language and a certain restless urgency that makes one sit up and take notice. How do your poems come into being?

Most of them are composed of vomit.  They’ve been happening in car rides lately while running Books & Shovels.  Wandering around results in poems.  Conversation.  It’s like twitching my knee.  I record odd ball sayings, weird Facebook statuses, Tweets, noises of cities, campfires, whatever is in front of me, whatever is in my head.

5. One of your poetic beliefs that I really admire states that “The internet is a scream, and we are a whisper. We must work together to be loud.” How do you envisage this collaboration between a subjective psyche and an impersonal communicating agent to achieve a poetic fulfillment?

The impersonal agent, forms of sending out a mass message, is simply to incite awareness.  The power lies in intimate social interaction.  We can’t work together solely online, but it’s a start.  We need to organize against the overarching structures of power that promote inequality, monetary drive, and inhibitions of freedom, both physically and of thought.  Promoting passion and art will only drag us so far.  These are medians to push awareness and creativity and wonderment, love of life, assisting others who are not in positions for such notions to find a sense of childhood.

Operating in shadows of childhood dangling from a noose composed of dreams, we need to organize against hindrances towards human potential.

How?  I don’t know yet.  I’m knotting and untieing restlessness and apathy in my belly too.  Why try to cause change in the Human Zoo when there’s a self to wander after?  I went off on a typed tangent that I don’t want to ignore, but to answer your question directly, Facebook, Twitter, all of these things can be made personal, but only to the extent of what the individual wants to project.  The face to face interactions, in the streets, performing, at shows, festivals, these are the places to promote art, to promote change, to become a scream.

7. Is Jeremiah Walton, the person, different from Jeremiah Walton, the author?

I project as much of myself as I want to through social media and what is available to read online.  I’m just me.  I’m not going to cultivate some alter-ego to set up expectations from others that fall to shit.  I’d rather connect with others who I can hang out with and enjoy the company of than connect with others through a false personality that I have to adapt to for every little social circumstance.  But hell, that’s not easy, and I’m sure I slip through the cracks of each persona from time to time.  I’m me.  People peopling.

I’m happy you asked this question.

Read the full interview @ Morphemic Morphology

(Hermeneutic Chaos Literary Journal)

Filed under: Interviews

About the Author

Posted by

Oi ! I’m Jeremiah Walton. For the past ~3 years I’ve been bopping around the U.S. between hitchhiking + rubber tramping, running traveling bookstore Books & Shovels + indie publisher Nostrovia! Press. My focus is in-person distribution at open mics + features + busking. Word of mouth is a fulfilling & feels to be a more intimate promotional process. I’ve featured at the NYC Poetry Festival + San Francisco Lit Crawl + Snoetry Cleveland + Beast Crawl Oakland + This Lil Lit Fest + street corners across the country. There’s a handful of my books floating around the country, but most recently is “From Here Til Utopia” (Ghost City Press). Raccoons + coyotes are my companions. Hope you dig the poems, much love, thank you❤

Leave a Reply

