comments 4

“I get poetry!”

“I get poetry”,
“I don’t get poetry”  

I love poetry.  I do not feign a strong understanding.  I don’t think there’s an objective understanding, objective formula.

The emotions provoked allow me to gauge how much a poem has an impact on me personally.  Poems like  Somewhere in the bottom of the rain by Steven Roggenbuck, Tweets from @Beach_Sloth, Wet Paint by Carlos Williams, seeing Isaac Kirkman perform his literary noir, and have stuck with me.  Amy King, D.A. Levy, Walt Whitman, Danez Smith, e.e. cummings, all of these are poets that have struck me and shaped me as a human being.

Poetry is not a measurable substance.

I don’t love all poetry.  I love some poems.  I love some poets.  It’s like watching movies.  Poetry is not inherently spiritual or scribbled with metaphorical depth that makes it impossible to understand.  There’s no need to understand what the poet was trying to say.  It can add power or appreciation to do so, but it is important to try and understand what the poem means to you, not what it means to anyone else.

Every poet has something different in their heart.  

What do you mean you don’t get poetry?  You are living it.  When a poem connects to your Being, you are holding it, you are fortifying it within you.  Flee that “getting it” concept.  It harms appreciation of poetry.  Rulers aren’t capable of measuring the bottom of the rain.

You do not “get it” or “don’t get it”.  It is a sense of Love.  It is the process of Creation, the emotions you harbor.

We all Belong to Poetry.  Poetry Belongs to All of Us.

Filed under: Essays

About the Author

Posted by

Jeremiah Walton is wary of writing a bio.

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

