comment 0

POWER OF POETRY #22: “I WANT TO KEEP HAPPENING” – SARAH XERTA

“I’m hesitant to write about the power of poetry because I don’t want to romanticize anything. Anne Sexton said “It’s the poetry that seems to be saving me” and she still eventually killed herself.”

The Poetry Question

LErxFD_v_400x400

“The Power of Poetry: I Want to Keep Happening”

Sarah Xerta

I’m hesitant to write about the power of poetry because I don’t want to romanticize anything. Anne Sexton said “It’s the poetry that seems to be saving me” and she still eventually killed herself. I can’t forget this. I can’t talk about the power of poetry without recognizing the limits of the power of poetry. Nothing is pure, not even a poem, except if you want to get meta and note that poems can be pure in their impurity, which is to say their realness, which is to say truth.

This is how I see things: from all angles. From the angles of each angle. From the underbelly of the underbelly. Which also means that I see the limits within my sight, the infinite space around me. For every word I say there are a thousand words left…

View original post 704 more words

Leave a Reply

