comment 0

Three Poems – Dalton Day

I Am a River in the Body of a Person Drowning in a River

I am a river
in the body of a person
drowning in a river.

There are knives buried
in my mud.

There are people buried
in my mud
& I am holding the knives
in my thousand hands.

A girl is cooling
her own hands in my body.

I am a boy
holding her hands
with my river

& the knives are melting
the people are going
back
& they are clean.

I am given wings
to replace
all my severed hands.

A jaguar is swimming
without a care
in the world.

Double Just to Have
after Raja Gemini

Your head splits open
not in a violent way

there is far too much sun-
light
to be violent

& the trees

they have begun
to burn

flocking
to the sky’s dark dust

without a worry of possibili-
ty
much like you

& your head

with its eyes
& their own impossible
presence
set against the sun

what are you if not a tower
blooming with honeycomb

What are you
if not a tower
blooming with

honeycomb

I think
I can see your skull

I think
I can see flowers

Honeycomb Brocade
after Alexander McQueen

I am wearing a
dress of bees
there are pock-
ets pockets filled with
smoke and ash from which
peaches are growing
from my body
turning
me into ghosts of smaller
& smaller suns
they won’t
stop getting older the bees
are where they are sup-
posed to be
sewn into my
shoulders can you even
see me
through the
smoke
do you
think I look like a tree
you could
climb
& keep climbing

while everyone
you love the animals
of the world

wait patiently be-
low

Dalton Day is a trembling dog person, Pushcart nominee, & MFA candidate in The New Writer’s Project. He is the author of the chapbooks Fake Knife & TANDEM, & his poems have been featured in PANK, Hobart, & Everyday Genius, among others. He helps edit FreezeRay Poetry, Souvenir Lit & can be found at myshoesuntied.tumblr.com & @lilghosthands.

I Am a River in the Body of a Person Drowning in a River & Honeycomb Brocade were both previously published in [Pank]

All three poems were previously published in Fuck Art, Let’s Dance issue #011

Leave a Reply

