comment 0

Lesley LeRoux on “Shadow Songs,” by Christopher Morgan

VAGABOND CITY

shadow+songs+cover.jpgThere are typically two things I like to do after reading a book of poetry for the first time, especially when it’s for a review. First, I come up with a first-impression word cloud – it may be only one word or a few, but it’s meant to sum up the general feeling I have towards a book on initial reading. This time around, for Christopher Morgan’s first chapbook from Sad Spell Press, Shadow Songs, the word was “visceral.”

Which brings me to the second thing: I like to hunt around for information on the author, to get a sense of any of their previous work or just their personality/online presence. This inevitably leads me to their social media accounts or blogs, which can be a neat little window into their lives that inform any second or third readings of their books.

One thing that struck me about…

View original post 612 more words

Leave a Reply

